Mama’s Ma2louba and my bad attitude 

Recipe for Ma2louba:

She wakes me up. She tells me to get dressed and get the stuff we need from the supermarket: 

One squash 

I don’t get up. She screams my name.

One cauliflower head 

I’m tired, I work all week.

One eggplant 

She’s warning me now.

Rice 

She screams my name again, adds an insult.

Spices 

It’s 7 am on a Sunday.

2 tomatoes 

I come home. I have the stuff. I need to change my clothes. She tells me to put the stuff away. I tell her to call my brother to put them away. She says, “no you, and now.” She’s serious. 

Cut the vegetables into small pieces 

She accidentally cuts her finger. She yells, calls me a fool, a good for nothing. I tell her I work all week, I’m tired. 

Fry the cauliflower, eggplant, and squash separately,

She says I did it to myself. She says I’m doing it for myself. 

and place them on a paper towel to drain the oil 

I tell her she never told my brother that. 

Place sliced tomatoes at the bottom of the pot, 

She tells me to shut up. 

Place fried vegetables on top 

I told her it’s unfair, I work really hard.

Place uncooked rice on top

I work all week, 5 days.

Wait for rice to fluff up 

She tells me,

Place a large plate on top of the pot 

“You’ll never be as good as Ahmad. Sons are better than daughters.”

Turn the pot upside down

But ma, I work really hard, you don’t get it. 5 days a week. 

Ma2louba 

Leave a Reply

